Chocolate orange Cupcakes!

Hey Guys,

Since I now have two weeks away from school I am able to fit in some baking practice to my schedule! Baking is one of my most favourite hobbies of all time (not that I have many) and I can’t wait to make some delicious cupcakes over the next two weeks.  Do you enjoy baking?

I’ve made lots of cakes in the past and hope to , in the future, be known for the cakes i have baked. This means a lot of practice. It also means that my next ounce of posts will be based around baking as it is also my favourite thing to write about. let me know if you like them :). x

what you will need :

Ingredients:

  • 110g / 4oz  of self raising flour
  • 110g / 4oz of caster sugar
  • 110g / 4oz of butter (room temperature / softened)
  • 2 large ish eggs
  • 2 tbsp coco powder ( I used Bournville baking / drinking coco)
  • 1 large orange , zest finely grated

decorating:

  • 100g / 4 oz of butter , softened
  • 200g / 6 oz of icing sugar.
  • 1 small orange , zest finely grated 
  • 1 Chocolate orange 
  • 1 small bar of white chocolate ( whatever is cheaper)
  • coco powder ( for dusting)

 

 

Method :

  1. preheat the oven to 170 °c / gas 5. Then line the 12 -hole cupcake tin with cases.            (I found that you do not fill all the cases as there is not enough mixture but then I like big cupcakes!)
  2. Mix together , using  a hand mixer or kitchen aid (it’s quicker) the sugar and butter. Then add the eggs , coco powder , flour and orange zest. As well as this I added a squeeze or two of orange juicemix for a further 2 minuets ensuring the mixture gains a lot of air. 
  3.  split the mixture between as many cases as you can. Fill each case up one by one encase you run out of mixture. Bake for 10-20 minuets making sure you keep an eye on them so they don’t burn. To see if they are cooked stab them ( gently)  and if the knife or wooden stick thingy comes out of the cake with nothing on it then they are done!

Icing :

  1. Beat up the butter and gradually add in the icing sugar.
  2. when fully mixed add the orange zest and one generous squeeze of orange juice. mix for a further minuet
  3. place in a piping bag and leave to harden in the fridge

 

 

12910633_1745833508982886_2046839870_n

 

xox~charlotte

